Iyengar Kurunta (Ropes)


This class is taught by:

Vladimir Nekrasov

I began my practice of yoga in Ukraine in 1987.
I came to the US in 1996 and discovered Iyengar yoga while attending yoga classes at Govinda's yoga studio. Since then, yoga became my life and soul. I now hold an intermediate junior 1 Iyengar yoga certificate.
I bring to my classes a knowledge of connection between the body, mind and soul. I like to challenge my students to overcome theirs fears and limits. I blend philosophy and knowledge of the medical effect of asanas into the practice. I take special interest in studying Vedic scriptures and philosophy, as well as Ayurvedic and Reiki massage. Art and Design are others hobbies that I do in my spare time.
Performing the yoga poses using ropes helps strengthen the major organs of action, the legs and the arms. The ropes helps the body to extend vertically and horizontally. Vladamir will guide you through a rope sequence that will open the body organically, leading to an open heart, better breathing and a quiet mind. The classes will be active and fun. It was first developed by the BKS Iyengar, who used it as a prop to support and intensify his asana practice. The ropes work by using gravity as a natural form of resistance, causing the body to open much further than it would in a regular yoga practice.

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Jun 30 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Jul 07 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Jul 14 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Jul 21 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Jul 28 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Aug 04 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Aug 11 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Aug 18 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Aug 25 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Sep 01 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Sep 08 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Sep 15 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Sep 22 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Sep 29 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Oct 06 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Oct 13 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov
  • Fri Oct 20 5:00 pm - 6:30 pm with Vladimir Nekrasov


  • Unwind & stretch banner_copy
  • Patrick Banner_copy
  • Affi Banner Template_copy1
  • Yoga Tune up Banner
  • Michele New Class 2
  • Power Yoga Banner
  • Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 1.04.31 PM
  • Int'l Yoga day
site-namastdaylogo-LG
icon-mail_07icon-facebook_11icon-instagram_15 icon-twitter_09